USA South Announces Fall Sportsmanship Awards

(FAYETTEVILLE, N.C.) - During the 2004-2005 academic year the USA South Athletic Conference Student-Athlete Advisory Committee instituted a Conference-wide Sportsmanship Award. Today, the USA South is pleased to announce the Sportsmanship Award winners for the 2010 fall sports season. Ferrum College captured two Sportsmanship Awards as its men's soccer and volleyball teams earned honors. Peace College collected accolades in women's soccer while Christopher Newport University won the award in football.

There will be a Sportsmanship Award for 11 of the 14 Conference-sponsored sports. For every sport, each team member votes for the teams he/she deems to have demonstrated the best overall sportsmanship throughout the season. The team garnering the most votes receives that sports' Sportsmanship Award. The institution which wins the most individual sport awards will be presented with the overall USA South Sportsmanship Trophy. The award was developed as a result of the SAAC's commitment to maintaining a sportsmanlike environment on each of our campuses.

The Student-Athlete Advisory Committee hopes that by awarding a Sportsmanship Award, the members of the USA South will understand the importance of this issue. It is vital that good sportsmanship be demonstrated in the arena of competition.

Fall Sportsmanship Award Winners
Football - Christopher Newport University
Volleyball - Ferrum College
Men's Soccer - Ferrum College
Women's Soccer - Peace College