USA South 2013 Men's Soccer Awards Announced

USA South 2013 Men's Soccer Awards Announced

(FAYETTEVILLE, N.C.) - The USA South Athletic Conference has announced its 2013 All-Conference awards for men's soccer. A total of 42 student-athletes have been named to the All-Conference teams. Methodist University's Eric McGinnis has been named the Player of the Year, Averett University's Adil Iich collected Rookie of the Year honors while Maryville College's Pepe Fernandez earned Coach of the Year accolades. Additionally, the USA South recognized an All-Sportsmanship Team, consisting of one member from each competing school.

All awards are voted on by the men's soccer coach at each institution.

McGinnis, a Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, senior forward led the Conference in goals, assists and points versus League competition. He compiled seven goals, six assists and 20 points during the Conference season. Overall, McGinnis is currently in the top-three in the Conference rankings of each offensive category as he has compiled ten goals with seven assists for 27 points. Additionally, he is tied for second in the League with four game-winning goals. McGinnis earns his third career all-conference honor, garnering First Team All-Conference accolades this season as a forward. He was also a first team honoree in 2011 while earning second team accolades in 2012 and 2010. Finally, McGinnis accumulated one USA South Player of the Week honor this season.

Iich, a Södertälje, Sweden freshman forward, currently leads all USA South rookies with nine goals and 22 points. Each of those two figures place him third in the entire League. He has managed to unleash a Conference-best 75 shots while notching two game-winning goals. Iich earned First Team All-Conference accolades as a forward to go along with one USA South Rookie of the Week honor this fall.

Fernandez, in his 25th season as the head of the Scots, earned his first USA South Coach of the Year honor. His team, which was picked by the League coaches in the preseason to finish sixth, tied for second place at the conclusion of the regular season. Maryville currently boasts a 10-4-2 overall record with a 6-3-0 Conference mark. The Scots enter the semifinals of the USA South Men's Soccer Tournament as the third seeded team.

Player of the Year Rookie of the Year Coach of the Year
Eric McGinnis

Adil Iich

Pepe Fernandez

The 2013 USA South Men's Soccer All-Conference Team:

First Team
Snoopy Davidson, Covenant
Adil Iich, Averett
Eric McGinnis, Methodist

Tim Baker, Maryville
Asa Fox, Ferrum
Craig Gage, Greensboro
Nahom Hargwoin, Methodist

Leifur Kristjansson, N.C. Wesleyan
Sean MacDonald, Methodist
Harry Nodwell, Averett

Manbi Nyepon, Greensboro

Second Team
Samba Cande, N.C. Wesleyan
Aaron Gustine, Ferrum
Benjy Slator, Averett
Shaun Watt, Greensboro

Payne Fisher, Maryville
Kyle Giscombe, Greensboro
Matt Hudnut, Covenant

Ben Gold, Methodist
Hunter Harrison, Covenant
Cristian Turcios, Ferrum

Shuler Polk, Covenant


Third Team
Patrick Braxton, Maryville
Earl Floyd, Greensboro
Sebastain Wiiala, N.C. Wesleyan

Nathan Brown, Averett
Garrison Dale, Covenant
Scott Faytol, Greensboro

Liam Buckley, Greensboro
Connor Cunningham, Greensboro
Hank Tobener, Methodist
Sean Yoder, Maryville

Nick Martens, Methodist

All-Sportsmanship Team
Gerron Cooper, Averett
Garrison Dale, Covenant
Jae White, Ferrum
Drew Clukey, Greensboro
Robbie Farquhar, Huntingdon
Dylan Corbett, LaGrange
Ben Munger, Maryville
Chris Kapper, Methodist
Thorfinnur Thorfinnsson, N.C. Wesleyan
Dylan Krimmer, Piedmont