Piedmont Picked to Defend USA South Men's Cross Country Title

Piedmont Picked to Defend USA South Men's Cross Country Title

(FAYETTEVILLE, N.C.) - Piedmont College, under the direction of Head Coach Jeff Jenkins, in his fourth season, was picked in the USA South Athletic Conference preseason coaches poll to capture the men's cross country title in 2017. The Lions earned their second consecutive USA South title at last year's championship meet. Piedmont received four of 11 first place votes to go along with 93 points. Head coaches do not vote for their own teams in the balloting.

The USA South will welcome several new additions to men's cross country this fall. Huntingdon College and N.C. Wesleyan College have added the sport to begin collegiate competition this season while Berea College, Brevard College and Pfeiffer University have established programs but are beginning their first season as USA South member institutions. Brevard and Pfeiffer are currently transitioning from NCAA Division II and are not eligible to compete for a championship for All-Conference accolades this year but their student-athletes will be invited to participate in the Conference Championship event.

Covenant College finished second in the balloting with 85 points while Berea placed third with 76 points and six first place votes. Methodist University came in fourth place with 74 points and the final first place vote as Maryville College was fifth with 68 points. Rounding out the top-half of the poll with 54 points was Averett University in sixth place.

The men's cross country season gets underway on Friday, September 1st as six teams are in action. The USA South Cross Country Championship will be held at TFS Farms in Tallulah Falls, Georgia hosted by Piedmont on Saturday, October 28. The men's 8,000-meter race is scheduled to begin at Noon while the women's 6,000 meter race is scheduled to begin at 11:00am.


2017 USA South Men's Cross Country Coaches Preseason Poll
Rank Institution (1st Place Votes) Pts.
1. Piedmont (4) 93
2. Covenant 85
3. Berea (6) 76
4. Methodist (1) 74
5. Maryville 68
6. Averett 54
7. Huntingdon 47
8. LaGrange 41
9. Ferrum 26
10. N.C. Wesleyan 22 
11. William Peace 19 
--- *Brevard -
--- *Pfeiffer -
*Ineligible for USA South Championship (Div. III Reclassifying Member)