CNU Tabbed as Women's Soccer Favorite

CNU Tabbed as Women's Soccer Favorite

(FAYETTEVILLE, N.C.) – Christopher Newport University, under the direction of Head Coach Ruth Keegan, who is in her fifth year, was picked in the preseason coaches' poll to win the USA South Athletic Conference women's soccer title in 2012. The Captains are the three-time defending USA South Regular Season Champions. Last season's regular season crown was the program's seventh in the last ten years. CNU advanced to last fall's USA South Tournament final but was defeated by Shenandoah University.

The 2012 season marks the first in the USA South for new Conference members LaGrange College, Maryville College and Piedmont College. Each institution is a former member of the Great South Athletic Conference.

Christopher Newport received nine of 12 first place votes (119 points) as head coaches do not vote for their own teams in the balloting.

Averett University finished second in the balloting with 110 points and the remaining three first place votes. Newcomers Maryville and Piedmont came in at third and fourth in the poll with 95 and 90 points, respectfully. Rounding out the top-half of the ranking was Greensboro College with 82 points.

The women's soccer regular season gets underway on Friday, August 31 as six teams are in action.

The USA South Tournament will once again head to Martinsville, Virginia as the Southern Virginia Recreation Facilities Authority will host the 2012 Men's and Women's Soccer semifinals and finals. The contests will be held at the Smith River Sports Complex on November 2 and 3. The first round games of the tournaments will continue to be held on the campuses of the higher seeded team and will take place on Saturday, October 27. The top-eight seeded teams after the conclusion of regular season competition will advance to the tournament.

2012 USA South Women's Soccer Preseason Coaches Poll
Rank Institution (1st Place Votes) Pts.
1. Christopher Newport (9) 119
2. Averett (3) 110
3. Maryville 95
4. Piedmont 90
5. Greensboro 82
6. Meredith 71
7. Methodist 65
8. LaGrange 49
9. Ferrum 48
10. N.C. Wesleyan 31
t-11. Mary Baldwin 16
t-11. William Peace 16