USA South 2012 Women's Soccer Awards Announced

USA South 2012 Women's Soccer Awards Announced

(FAYETTEVILLE, N.C.) - The USA South Athletic Conference has announced its 2012 All-Conference awards for women's soccer. A total of 53 student-athletes have been named to the All-Conference teams. Maryville College's Ashley Howarth has been named the Player of the Year while her teammate, Sierra Siegel earned Rookie of the Year accolades. Averett University's Carly Pearce collected Coach of the Year honors to round out the individual accolades. Additionally, the USA South recognized an All-Sportsmanship Team, consisting of one member from each competing school.

All awards are voted on by the women's soccer coach at each institution.

Howarth, a Knoxville, Tennessee junior forward, collects her second consecutive player of the year honor as she was the Great South Athletic Conference Player of the Year one season ago. Howarth has compiled 30 points on 14 goals and two assists so far this fall. Her goal total is currently tied for fourth-best in the USA South. In Conference games only this fall, Howarth led the league with 23 points on 11 goals and one assist. She earns her third career all-conference honor, garnering USA South First Team All-Conference accolades this fall as a forward after collecting All-Conference honors her first two seasons in the Great South. Finally, Howarth accumulated two USA South Player of the Week honors this fall.

Siegel, a Valrico, Florida freshman forward, has compiled 21 points on nine goals, three of which were game-winning, and three assists this season. In league contests only, her 17 points on seven goals and three assists were tied atop the rankings amongst other rookies in the Conference. Additionally, Siegel tallied three game-winning scores in USA South matches which was tied for the most this season. Finally, Siegel earned Second Team All-Conference accolades to go along with one USA South Rookie of the Week honor this fall.

Pearce, in her fifth season as the head of the Cougars, becomes the first Averett women's soccer coach to be named USA South Coach of the Year. She led her team to the program's first-ever Conference Regular Season Title. Averett finished the regular season with a program-record 15 wins with just three defeats. In Conference action, the Cougars compiled a perfect 11-0-0 record. Pearce now takes her team into the semifinals of the USA South Women's Soccer Tournament as the top seed.

Player of the Year Rookie of the Year Coach of the Year

Ashley Howarth

Sierra Siegel

Carly Pearce

The 2012 USA South Women's Soccer All-Conference Team:

First Team Second Team Third Team

Jessie Davis - Meredith
Ashley Howarth - Maryville
Pernilla Milton - Averett
Emma O'Reilly - Christopher Newport

Dani Gunderson - Christopher Newport
Mathilda Hansson - Averett
Sandra Johansson - Averett

Kayla Kiernozek - Maryville
Emma Olsson - Averett
Alexis Stahlman - Christopher Newport

Malin Borjesson - Averett

Allison Gibson - Greensboro
Sierra Siegel - Maryville
Camilla Sjoren - Averett

Alexis Franco - Maryville
Danielle Lee - Meredith
Chelsea Wolfe - Christopher Newport

T'Keyah Henry - Greensboro
Sarah Hopkins - Greensboro
Megan Luke - Meredith
Catherine Onarheim - Averett

Kelsey Hopper - Meredith

Taylor Brown - Meredith
Laura Goodwin - Piedmont
Rebecca Staylor - N.C. Wesleyan
Carly Utterback - Christopher Newport

Dilyn MacLean - Piedmont
Suvi Piipponen - Averett
Annemarie Weaver - Christopher Newport

Julie Jennings - Christopher Newport
Annah Kane - Meredith
Kelsie Kestner - Maryville

Meghan Gumbs - Christopher Newport

Honorable Mention All-Sportsmanship  

Rachel Didier - Meredith
Kristin Habig - Methodist
Macie Rooke - Piedmont

Meredith Kelly - Greensboro
Sarah Olsowski - N.C. Wesleyan
Charlotte Thibault - Averett

Emily Corsin - Piedmont
Danielle Hickman - N.C. Wesleyan
Lizzy Simmons - Maryville
Hope Sims - LaGrange

Shireen Unvala - Greensboro

Mary-Kate Cogan - Averett
Joy Piirto - Christopher Newport
Kelsey Guinan - Ferrum
Meredith Kelly - Greensboro
Hope Sims - LaGrange
Michelle Jones - Mary Baldwin
Lauren Ward - Maryville 
Annah Kane - Meredith
Brooke Corley - Methodist
Ashley Marks - N.C. Wesleyan
Macie Rooke - Piedmont
Anne Tucker Rodgers - William Peace