USA South Announces 50th Anniversary Men's Tennis Team

USA South Announces 50th Anniversary Men's Tennis Team

(FAYETTEVILLE, N.C.) – The 2013-14 season serves as the 50th for the USA South Athletic Conference. In an effort to relive 50 Years of great student-athlete performances, each current League institution was given the opportunity to submit names of student-athletes who have competed within the Conference, completed their athletic eligibility and excelled not only on their campuses but in the Conference as a whole.

The maximum amount of athletes an institution could submit for each sport was twice the typical starting lineup of that particular sport. Due to the short length of their presence in the USA South or sport-sponsorship, some current USA South institutions are not included in some of the sports.

The sport of men's tennis is one of the original Conference-sponsored sports as the first regular season championship was awarded in 1964. In 2006, the first Conference Men's Tennis Tournament was conducted. During the 50-year history of men's tennis in the Conference, nine different institutions have claimed regular season League titles. Recently, N.C. Wesleyan has taken the torch and earned the past five regular season and tournament championships. Individually, student-athletes from several institutions have fared well on the national stage in both singles and doubles, earning All-American status.

The USA South's 50th Anniversary Men's Tennis Team Members follow (as chosen by the particular institution):

Averett University
Vellu Antila Sirsean Arlain Mikko Hermans Tomi Huhtamaki Tarmo Laaksonen
Harri Lahtela Petteri Lehtinen Tapio Martti Daniel McGregor Pekka Mikkonen
Tuomas Waheeb Hannu Ylinenpaa      


Ferrum College
Rod Baker Matt Brantley David Evans Randy Farleigh Richard LeSueur
Paul Matthews Chris Miller Wilson Paine Matt Rhodes Erich Trier
Jeff Worsham Gabe Zakkak      


Greensboro College
Nickolay Bochilo P.G. Grane Steve Grimm Bryan Humphreys Jay James
Bob Koseychi David Sutton Darry Toler    


Methodist University
Keith Criscoe Kevin Criscoe Marcus Dudley Mark Faber Chris Fletcher
Scott Jenkin Vaughn John Ben Porter Matt Taylor Jonathan Terry


N.C. Wesleyan College
Vernon Bradley Mike Fillietaz Terry Jones Fred Lemongo Mike Long
Barry Nethercutt Artsiom Prostak Alexey Rumyantsev Antti Saari Martin Saunders
Chappy Wake Dan Weber      


To view each of the USA South Anniversary Teams, please click HERE!

To view more ways the USA South is celebrating its 50th year, please click HERE!