USA South Announces 50th Anniversary Volleyball Team

USA South Announces 50th Anniversary Volleyball Team

(FAYETTEVILLE, N.C.) – The 2013-14 season serves as the 50th for the USA South Athletic Conference. In an effort to relive 50 Years of great student-athlete performances, each current League institution was given the opportunity to submit names of student-athletes who have competed within the Conference, completed their athletic eligibility and excelled not only on their campuses but in the Conference as a whole.

The maximum amount of athletes an institution could submit for each sport was twice the typical starting lineup of that particular sport. Due to the short length of their presence in the USA South or sport-sponsorship, some current USA South institutions are not included in some of the sports.

The USA South began sponsoring both a regular season and tournament championship in the sport of volleyball in 1981. The Conference has produced many great individual and team performances over the years that the sport has existed in the League. Most recently, former member Christopher Newport University reached the NCAA Division III National Championship match in 2011.

The USA South's 50th Anniversary Volleyball Team Members follow (as chosen by the particular institution):

Averett University
Paige Aaron Courtney Carrington Courtney Cowart Michelle Dillon Angie Ellis Lynn Haden
Brynn Hughes Marie Keatts Samantha Kirby Bren LaFlamme Ruth Miller Courtney Peters
Jill Rowland Lauren Wells        


Ferrum College
Mindy Altice Jessica Flanagan Shermika Harris Lora Hicks Jan Kelley Tamiko Martin
Kristi Persinger Susan Reagan Amy Robertson Kelly Vardaro Kia Williams Susie Wilson


Greensboro College
Kristy Aldous Kristen Brown Laura Brown Amy Gibson Gigi LaMorte Tina Leonard
Wendy Shope Katie Smith Lauren Smith Leslie Smith Julie Spear Shannon Virtue


Meredith College
Emily Anderson Mallory Booker MaryBeth Finegan Laura Sayabouth Cori Spade Morgan White


Methodist University
Vivian Culverhouse Theresa Dwenger Jennifer Ellis Billie Farris Audra Griffey Aura Griffey
Kayci Miller Kim Miller Sonja Mixon Jalesty Washington Joann Weary Stephanie Wood


N.C. Wesleyan College
Mary D’Eredita Caitlin George Kelly George Anna Hart Crystal Hazelwood Brittany Insley
Arlene Massey Jetanna McClain Meredith Smith Joyce Sparks Mackenzie Tingle Vivian Vega


William Peace University
Elizabeth Evanoff Lindsey Kabbes

To view each of the USA South Anniversary Teams, please click HERE!

To view more ways the USA South is celebrating its 50th year, please click HERE!