USA South Announces 50th Anniversary Women's Tennis Team

USA South Announces 50th Anniversary Women's Tennis Team

(FAYETTEVILLE, N.C.) – The 2013-14 season serves as the 50th for the USA South Athletic Conference. In an effort to relive 50 Years of great student-athlete performances, each current League institution was given the opportunity to submit names of student-athletes who have competed within the Conference, completed their athletic eligibility and excelled not only on their campuses but in the Conference as a whole.

The maximum amount of athletes an institution could submit for each sport was twice the typical starting lineup of that particular sport. Due to the short length of their presence in the USA South or sport-sponsorship, some current USA South institutions are not included in some of the sports.

The Conference began sponsoring a regular season championship in the sport of women's tennis in the spring of 1982. It wasn't until 2006 that the first Conference tournament was conducted. Former member UNC-Greensboro won the first seven regular season titles with Methodist University staking claim to 18 of the 25 championships since. The League has produced two NCAA Division III Individual National Championships, both by way of Conference Hall of Famer Elena Blanina from Methodist. She captured consecutive titles in 2001 and 2002.

The USA South's 50th Anniversary Women's Tennis Team Members follow (as chosen by the particular institution):

Averett University
Amy Cross Kelly Gregory Margaret Henderson Karolina Honkanen Suvi Salminen
Lisa Sands Elina Tolpaa Kirsi Turunen Maaret Voutilanen Jenni Vuola
Emilia Vuorela Jennifer Witt      


Ferrum College
Marlo Ferguson Kristen Hilton Ebony Irving Cindy Jancso Jan Kelley
Tina McBride Heather Minter Lindsay Morton Becky Soteres Missy Spradlin
Hilary Wagar Missy Wilson  


Greensboro College
Kate Creasy Karen Dutton-Adams Meredith Kelly Jennifer Lea Michelle Lemmons
Carrie Pacifico Anne Scott Meredith Stanley


Meredith College
Brooke Baird Morgan Martin Kathryn Maples Ashley Pearsall Meredith Roberson


Methodist University
Elena Blanina Laurie Brucker Courtney Bull Dorian Droege Jeanne Edwards
Kaitlin Flaherty Katherine Meindl Rachel Purser Carla Simpson Jenny Smith
Tiffany Tucker Shannon Vivian      


N.C. Wesleyan College
Jenna Gollub Tori Jones Samia Kacher Bristy Parker Kristin Seidel


William Peace University
Liza Bridgers Alejandra Cobian Charlotte Davis Kristen Starnes


To view each of the USA South Anniversary Teams, please click HERE!

To view more ways the USA South is celebrating its 50th year, please click HERE!

Kristen Hilton