USA South Announces Spring Sportsmanship Awards

USA South Announces Spring Sportsmanship Awards

During the 2004-2005 academic year the USA South Athletic Conference Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) instituted a Conference-wide Sportsmanship Award. Today, the USA South is pleased to announce the Sportsmanship Award winners for the 2018 spring sports season.

Mary Baldwin University was the only institution in the spring to capture multiple honors as the Fighting Squirrels took the softball award for the second consecutive season along with the women's tennis accolade. Berea College captured the baseball team sportsmanship award in their first season in the Conference while Averett University earned the inaugural men's lacrosse honor. For the third season in a row, the Meredith College women's lacrosse team earned sportsmanship recognition as the Covenant College men's tennis squad collected the award for the second consecutive year.

There will be a Sportsmanship Award for the 12 Conference-sponsored team sports. Men's and women's cross country, along with men's golf, are not included due to a lack of a conference schedule in those particular sports. For each sport, all team members vote for the team he/she deemed to have demonstrated the best overall sportsmanship throughout the season. The team garnering the most votes receives that sports' Sportsmanship Award. The institution which wins the most individual sport awards will be presented with the overall USA South Sportsmanship Trophy.

The award was developed as a result of the SAAC's commitment to maintaining a sportsmanlike environment on each of our campuses. The SAAC hopes that by awarding a Sportsmanship Award, the members of the USA South will understand the importance of this issue. It is vital that good sportsmanship be demonstrated in the arena of competition.

Spring Sportsmanship Award Winners
Baseball - Berea College
Softball - Mary Baldwin University
Men's Tennis - Covenant College
Women's Tennis - Mary Baldwin University
Men's Lacrosse - Averett University
Women's Lacrosse - Meredith College

Winter Sportsmanship Award Winners
Men's Basketball - Covenant College
Women's Basketball - Mary Baldwin University

Fall Sportsmanship Award Winners
Football - Ferrum College
Men's Soccer - Maryville College
Women's Soccer - William Peace University
Volleyball - Covenant College