USA South 2017-18 Women's Basketball Awards Announced

USA South 2017-18 Women's Basketball Awards Announced

The USA South Athletic Conference has announced its 2017-18 All-Conference awards for women's basketball. Ferrum College's Zarkia Mattox was named the Player of the Year. Meredith College's Kimberly Schuh collected Rookie of the Year accolades while Berea College's Trent Milby earned Coach of the Year honors to conclude the individual awards. Also, the USA South recognized an All-Sportsmanship Team consisting of one member from each competing school.

All awards are voted on by the women's basketball coach at each institution. The divisional team voting is completed only by those coaches in the particular division. The first team all-conference and individual award voting is completed by all coaches. The awards will be presented to individuals from teams competing in the semifinals of the USA South Women's Basketball tournament immediately following the conclusion of the first semifinal contest.

Mattox, a Rocky Mount, Virginia senior guard collects Conference Player of the Year accolades for the second consecutive season. She now has three career League individual awards as she was also the 2015 Conference Rookie of the Year. Mattox becomes the first Panther to collect back-to-back women's basketball Conference player of the year honors. She concluded the regular season leading the Conference in scoring for the second straight year as she averaged 21.8 points per game and 26.4 points per 40-minutes. Mattox also added 8.9 rebounds, 3.8 steals and 3.1 assists. She ranked in the top ten of League performers in minutes played, field goals made, field goal percentage, free throws made, defensive rebounds, total rebounds, assists and steals. Additionally this season, Mattox became Ferrum's all-time leading scorer after notching her 1,642nd point against Pfeiffer on January 21. She earns her fourth career all-conference honor, garnering First Team All-Conference accolades for the third consecutive season after being named to the second team following her first campaign. Mattox also collected USA South First Team All-East Division accolades this winter. Finally, she accumulated five USA South Player of the Week honors this year.

Schuh, an Apex, North Carolina freshman forward, becomes the first Avenging Angel to earn USA South Women's Basketball Rookie of the Year. She led all Conference rookies during the regular season in scoring as she averaged 17.1 points per game, good for sixth in the entire League. Schuh also averaged 7.1 rebounds and 2.2 assists per contest while her 127 made free throws rank second in the USA South. Additionally, she ranked in the top-ten in the Conference in minutes played, minutes per game, field goals made, free throws made and free throw percentage. Finally, Schuh collects USA South Second Team All-East Division honors after being named USA South Rookie of the Week three times this season.

Milby, in his fifth season as the head of the Mountaineers, collects his first USA South Coach of the Year honor in Berea's first year in the League. Milby took his team to the program's first USA South Regular Season title as the Mountaineers posted a 12-2 Conference mark to claim the West Division championship. In the Conference preseason coaches poll Berea was picked to finish fifth in the division. The Mountaineers have posted a 21-3 overall record, are winners of their last six games and 17 of their last 18 contests. Milby now takes his team into the USA South Women's Basketball Tournament as the top-seed of the West Division.


Player of the Year Rookie of the Year Coach of the Year

Zarkia Mattox

Kimberly Schuh

Trent Milby

The 2017-18 USA South Women's Basketball All-Conference Team:


First Team All-Conference
Samm Chandler, Averett
Zarkia Mattox, Ferrum
Juliette Harp, Huntingdon
Mikayla Ray, William Peace
Adriana Williams, Berea


First Team East Division Second Team East Division First Team West Division Second Team West Division
Samm Chandler, Averett
Katie Lewis, Greensboro
Zarkia Mattox, Ferrum
Mikayla Ray, William Peace
Sabrina Shepherd, Salem
Amani Ajayi, Averett
Erin March, Ferrum
KeChae Parker, N.C. Wesleyan
Kimberly Schuh, Meredith
MiKayla Seivers, Salem
Garis Grant, Agnes Scott
Juliette Harp, Huntingdon
Rachel Hawn, Maryville
Bri Lanham, Berea
Adriana Williams, Berea
Kaley Hallmark, Covenant
Lauren Johnson, LaGrange
Madison Maples, Maryville 
Amari Price, Piedmont
Carlie Shields, Piedmont

Annie Weimerskirch, Agnes Scott
Hailey Chandler, Averett
Zacchea Small, Berea
Annalee Bollinger, Brevard
Morgan Douglass, Covenant
Jessie O'Conner, Ferrum
Kylee Barry, Greensboro
Sidney Ison, Huntingdon
Austin Richardson, LaGrange
Cauy Duboise, Mary Baldwin
Kelley Wandell, Maryville
Janah Hassell, Meredith
Kadie Snipes, Methodist
Daijah Davis, N.C. Wesleyan
Kaylee O'Dwyer, Pfeiffer
Bridgette Kelly, Piedmont
Tarryn Johnson, Salem
Alexis Russell, Wesleyan
Dejah Cheatham, William Peace