2013 USA South Lacrosse Awards Announced

2013 USA South Lacrosse Awards Announced

(FAYETTEVILLE, N.C.) - The USA South Athletic Conference has announced its All-Conference awards for lacrosse. A total of 46 student-athletes have been named to the 2013 USA South All-Conference teams. Christopher Newport University's Ashton Marshall earned the Player of the Year award, Meredith College's Katie Burnet collected Rookie of the Year accolades while Piedmont College's Emily Jacquette was named Coach of the Year. Finally, the USA South recognized an All-Sportsmanship Team, consisting of one member from each competing school.

All honors were determined by votes from the women's lacrosse coach at each institution.

Marshall, a junior midfielder from Round Hill, Virginia, collects her second consecutive Player of the Year award. She currently has compiled the second-most goals in the Conference, 57, and the fifth-most points, 70. She has also added 13 assists, 30 groundballs, 25 draw controls and 11 caused turnovers. For her efforts, she earned First Team All-Conference accolades as a midfielder for the first time in her career after earning the same honor as an attacker the previous two seasons. Finally, Marshall was named USA South Player of the Week twice this spring.

Burnet, a freshman midfielder from Apex, North Carolina has tallied 72 points on 55 goals and 17 assists. Each of those offensive numbers currently ranks in the top-eight of the entire Conference. Burnet currently leads all League rookies in points and goals. In Conference-games only, she was tied for the League lead with 32 goals scored. Additionally, Burnet led the USA South with 54 groundballs collected, to go along with 53 draw controls and 22 caused turnovers. For her efforts, Burnet earned First Team All-Conference honors as a midfielder this season. Finally, she was named USA South Rookie of the Week two times this spring.

In her first season at Piedmont, in the program's inaugural season, Jacquette collects her first Coach of the Year honor. This spring, Jacquette has led the Lions to a 12-3 overall record and a 5-3 mark in League-play, good for a fourth-place finish in the standings. Her team was picked to finish sixth in the USA South Preseason Coaches Poll. Jacquette now leads her squad into the semifinals of the USA South tournament as the fourth-seeded team.

Player of the Year Rookie of the Year Coach of the Year

Ashton Marshall
Christopher Newport
Katie Burnet

Emily Jacquette

The 2013 USA South Lacrosse All-Conference Team:

First Team Second Team Honorable Mention

Brooke Hewartson, Ferrum
Sydney Hewartson, Ferrum
Brittany Ziobro, Greensboro

Katie Burnet, Meredith
Caila Cummings, Ferrum
Becca Geist, Christopher Newport
Ashton Marshall, Christopher Newport
Kirstin Norris, Greensboro

Kendra Allbritton, Greensboro
Eliza Evans, Meredith
Emily Johnson, Christopher Newport

Hanna Slough, Christopher Newport

Alexis Narducci, Piedmont
Elena Obregon, Christopher Newport
Jessica Singer, Christopher Newport

Lauren King, Christopher Newport
Cahner Manns, Piedmont
Megan McDowell, Piedmont
Maggie McDaniel, Piedmont
Hope Motahari, Methodist

Arielle Boyd, Ferrum
Monica Evans, Christopher Newport
Stephanie Green, Christopher Newport

Amanda Cheney, Ferrum

Kelsey Griffin, LaGrange
Alicia Logan, Agnes Scott
Lottie Meadows, Meredith

Lauren Blankenship, Ferrum
Angelyn Brown, Ferrum
Kelly Lane, Christopher Newport
Danielle Lee, Meredith
Caroline Recio, Agnes Scott

Tiffany Dillard,  LaGrange
Elaine Rossignol, Piedmont
Melissa Townsend, Greensboro
Samantha Vanover, Piedmont

Carly Haraka, Piedmont


Monique Novoa - Agnes Scott
Olivia McMurtrie - Christopher Newport
Shannon Brown - Ferrum
Jordan Balasus - Greensboro
Kristin Bird - LaGrange
Andie Stuber - Meredith
Zhane' Ruffin - Methodist
Tiffany Ramos - N.C. Wesleyan
Samantha Vanover - Piedmont