2015 USA South Women's Lacrosse Awards Announced

2015 USA South Women's Lacrosse Awards Announced

(FAYETTEVILLE, N.C.) - The USA South Athletic Conference has announced its 2015 All-Conference awards for women's lacrosse. A total of 28 student-athletes have been named to the All-Conference teams. Greensboro College's Kirstin Norris earned the Player of the Year award while Meredith College's Carlee Joseph collected Rookie of the Year accolades and her coach, Lauren Scott, was named Coach of the Year. Finally, the USA South recognized an All-Sportsmanship Team, consisting of one member from each competing school.

All honors were determined by votes from the women's lacrosse coach at each institution.

Norris, a junior midfielder from Bushwood, Maryland becomes the first Greensboro women's lacrosse player to be named Conference Player of the Year. Norris has currently compiled 85 points on a USA South-best 67 goals with 18 assists. She has totaled a League-high 131 total shots and 102 shots on goal. Norris currently ranks second in the Conference with 66 draw controls and seventh with 24 caused turnovers. In USA South-action only, Norris led the Conference with 34 points on 24 goals and ten assists. For her efforts, she earned First Team All-Conference accolades as a midfielder for the third consecutive season. Finally, Norris was named USA South Player of the Week twice this spring.

Joseph, a freshman attacker from Hollywood, Maryland currently leads all USA South rookies offensively as she has tallied 69 points on 44 goals and 25 assists. Her assist total ranks third in the entire Conference while the points and goals numbers each are sixth-best. In USA South-action only, Joseph tallied 29 points which was third-best in the League. For her efforts, Joseph earned Second Team All-Conference honors as an attacker this season. Finally, she was named USA South Rookie of the Week four times this spring.

In her third season at Meredith, Scott collects her first Coach of the Year honor and becomes the first Avenging Angel head coach to earn this award in the sport of women's lacrosse. This spring, Scott has led Meredith to a 10-6 overall record and a 7-1 mark in League-play, good for second place. The Avenging Angels have had their share of adversity this season, adjusting to the loss of last year's Conference Player of the Year, Katie Burnet, to a season-ending injury just five games into the campaign. Scott now leads her squad into the semifinals of the USA South tournament as the second-seeded team and defending champions.

Player of the Year Rookie of the Year Coach of the Year
Kirstin Norris

Carlee Joseph

Lauren Scott

The 2015 USA South Lacrosse All-Conference Team:

First Team Second Team All-Sportsmanship
Mckynsey Douglas, Piedmont
Nadya Fedun, Greensboro
Cassie Walter, Methodist

Shannon Brown, Ferrum
Danielle Lee, Meredith
Maggie McDaniel, Piedmont
Kirstin Norris, Greensboro

Alyssa Codispoti, Meredith
Jenine Brideau, Piedmont
Bianca Otey, Ferrum

Blake Forrest, Piedmont
Courtney Hamm, Ferrum
Carlee Joseph, Meredith
Lottie Meadows, Meredith

Victoria Doyle, Meredith
Hope Motahari, Methodist
Ashlynn Parks, Greensboro
Jen Price, Huntingdon

Briana Baird, Ferrum
Francesca Malabad, Piedmont
Katherine Sills, Meredith

Emily Ewin, Methodist
Bianca Otey, Ferrum
Jessica Pogue, Greensboro
Kathryn Wood, LaGrange
Bree Brake, Huntingdon
Griffin Hewett, Meredith
Zhane' Ruffin, Methodist
Tiffany Slaughter, Piedmont