Meredith Tabbed as USA South Preseason Women's Lacrosse Favorite

Meredith Tabbed as USA South Preseason Women's Lacrosse Favorite

Meredith College, under the direction of Head Coach Lauren Scott, was picked to win the 2019 USA South Athletic Conference women's lacrosse title in the preseason coaches poll. Last season, the Avenging Angels captured the program's third straight USA South regular season title and fifth consecutive Conference tournament championship. Meredith received 11 of 12 first place votes and 121 points as head coaches do not vote for their own teams in the balloting.

This season, William Peace University will be welcomed into the USA South women's lacrosse fray as the Pacers are sponsoring the sport for the first time.

Piedmont College, last season's USA South Tournament runners-up, was second in the poll with 107 points and the final first place vote. Placing third with 95 points was Pfeiffer University while Methodist University came in at fourth with 92 points to round out the top third of the poll.

The USA South welcomed Brevard College and Pfeiffer University last season. These two institutions are currently reclassifying from NCAA Division II status but this year are included in the preseason poll and eligible for regular season championship honors. Brevard and Pfeiffer still will not be eligible for USA South or NCAA Tournament play until full DIII membership is established. 

The 2019 USA South Women's Lacrosse Tournament will feature the top-six seeded teams. First round contests will be hosted by the third and fourth seeded teams on Tuesday, April 23. The two top seeds as well as the winners of the first round games will advance to Callaway Stadium in LaGrange, Georgia for the semifinals and finals on April 26-27 as a part of the USA South Spring Sports Festival hosted by the City of LaGrange and Troup County.

2019 USA South Women's Lacrosse Preseason Coaches Poll
Rank Institution (1st Place Votes) Pts.
1. Meredith^# (11) 121
2. Piedmont (1) 107 
3. Pfeiffer* 95
4. Methodist 92 
5. Greensboro 79
6. Averett  78 
7. Brevard* 60
8. Huntingdon 37 
9. William Peace 35
10. LaGrange 32 
11. Salem 29
12. N.C. Wesleyan  27 
*Ineligible for USA South Tournament (Div. III Reclassifying Member)
^Defending Regular Season Champion
#Defending Tournament Champion